QUOTE: God Needs No Defense

There are always those who take it upon themselves to defend God. As if ultimate reality, as if the sustaining frame of existence were something weak and helpless. These people walk by a widow deformed by leprosy, begging for a few paise, walk by children dressed in rags living in the street and think, “Business as usual.” But, if they perceive a slight against God, it is a different story. Their faces go red, their chests heave mightily, they sputter angry words. The degree of their indignation is astonishing. Their resolve is frightening. 

These people fail to realize that it is on the inside that God must be defended, not on the outside. They should direct their anger at themselves, for evil in the open is but evil from within that has been let out. The main battlefield for good is not the open battlefield of the public arena but the small clearing of each heart. Meanwhile, the lot of widows and homeless children is very hard, and it is to their defense, not God’s, that the self-righteous should rush. 

The Life of Pi by Yann Martel

 Matthew 25

40 “The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’

.  .  .

45 “He will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’

7 thoughts on “QUOTE: God Needs No Defense

  1. Amen! Around this time of year, we hear that old mantra “keep Christ in Christmas” crap. Even though it’s so much easier to write Xmas (hehehe)!
    No, but seriously, God doesn’t need defending, Christians don’t need to fight to put Christ back in Christmas. If an atheist shows kindness to a stranger, feeds a hungry person, clothes a naked person, or gives water to a thirsty person, then that atheist has shown love to God and from God, even though (s)he doesn’t think (s)he believes in God. It’s so much less important to believe in this or that god than it is to actually BE kind, generous, just, and loving. These are all qualities that can only come from God, and God is in everyone, whether we realize it or not.

    Like

    1. Hehe, yeah, I haven’t visited that site in quite awhile. Started to wear me out! The journey lately has been quite interesting, although I have not felt the push to blog about any of it (yet). I heard Rob Bell say the other day (on one of his Robcasts) that many people are realizing how much they don’t know. That’s been me for many years now … I’m finally getting to the “what I do know” part, which is kinda nice, actually! lol Anyway, when you’re in stage one (knowing what you don’t know) it’s a bad position to argue from on any debate forum (at Finding Truth, arguing from that position will practically get one killed – crucified, at the very least).

      Have you listened to any of Rob’s podcasts? They are really great!

      Thanks for keeping in touch with me, Josh. I would apologize for being so absent from my blog of late, except that I truly feel that to write anything for it now would be a disservice to my readers. Soon, soon. OH! I just got on the mailing list for Brad Jerzak’s new book and will write a review for it probably by the end of June. I can’t wait for that! Until then, take care, and keep fighting for Truth!

      Blessings,
      C

      Like

      1. Josh

        That makes so much sense! No worries about being absent. I’m often absent from most things 🙂 I’m definitely in the knowing I don’t know stage. Probably while I feel mostly destroyed when I go on Nate’s site 🙂 I saw another review of Brad’s book over on Faith Meets World – Rob Grayson’s blog. I’ve been doing a lot of reading of Robert Farrar Capon lately. Very interesting stuff. I’ll have to check out the “Robcasts”!
        Thanks
        -Josh

        Liked by 1 person

Penny for your thoughts?

